top of page

A Captivating Alliance with Nature

ART - is an extension of one's self and a bearing of one's sole!

As mud runs through my veins, and all things ceramic be my passion, that should reflect in my work.

The essence of my pieces, are encapsulated in the simplicity of the form, leaving the surface to tell the story. I love simplicity for its integrity. It is instantaneous, undeniable, dramatic and powerful yet unpretentious. The soul, of each piece is captured in the subtle yet rustic and earthy treatment of the surface, characteristic of an adventurous spirit, both potter and firing. Raku and Pit firing is a captivating alliance with nature and the elements and though serendipitous in nature, allows the artist direct involvement throughout most of the process with opportunity to influence the final outcome to some degree.

HOWEVER ..... I am no longer satisfied with involvement and influence of only part of the process I need to have a deeper understanding of clay and be more involved in the WHOLE process. So HI HO, HI HO its off with a pick and shovel I go!

MUD GLORIOUS MUD

I went off to Switzerland on the 23rd July 2019, to meet up with two wonderful artists, one a ceramist, the other a ceramic sculptor. The internship was to expand my experience and understanding of clay and its bi-products namely "terrasigillata" and investigate yet another form of alternative firing to add to my repertoire - Smoke Firing.

Suzy & Jens Balkert

Internship 24th July - 8th August 2018. A wonderful and valuable experience.

Making Terrasigillata, adjusting specific gravity

very time consuming, but critical.

A rewarding banquet of scrumptious Swiss delicacies in the garden each day after long sessions in the studio and smoke firing.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page